Five Astros named to 2018 AL All-Star Team

All-Star Game Rosters Announced

All-Star Game Rosters Announced

At 8 p.m. EDT, the MLB announced the victor of its Final Vote competition, the last chance for an unsung hero or fan favorite player to be voted into the 2018 MLB All-Star Game. He will be joined by Alex Bregman and George Springer, both of whom made the squad via the Player Ballot, and pitchers Gerrit Cole and Justin Verlander, who were named via a combination of the Player Ballot and the MLB Office of the Commissioner.

Outfielder Mookie Betts and designated hitter J.D. Martinez are in the American League's starting lineup representing the Red Sox and will be joined by teammates Chris Sale, Craig Kimbrel and Mitch Moreland. They will join manager A.J. Hinch and his coaching staff at the game, which will be held July 17 in Washington, D.C.

In the National League, the Chicago Cubs will send two players to start: second baseman Javier Baez and catcher Wilson Contreras.

Croatian and French fans have their say. Part 2
With a population of 4.2 million people as of 2016, Croatia is the smallest nation to make it to the final since Uruguay in 1950. It's hard to suppress Mario Mandzukic, who forced the game against Denmark in the round of 16 to a penalty shootout.

The National League's starting roster also includes hometown selection Bryce Harper in an outfield that also includes Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Markakis.

The 89th MLB All-Star Game will be played on Tuesday, July 17 at Nationals Park in Washington, DC. Some of the pitchers will include Aaron Nola, Mike Foltynewicz, Jacob deGrom, Mike Mikolas, Josh Hader and Patrick Corbin.

With that being said, here is your 2018 American League All-Star team. Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado will start in the infield, as well as San Francisco Giants shortstop Brandon Crawford.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.