Sacrebleu! Pavard stunner wins World Cup goal of the tournament

Benjamin Pavard played an important role in France’s World Cup victory

Benjamin Pavard played an important role in France’s World Cup victory

Benjamin Pavard's sensational volley against Argentina has been voted the World Cup's goal of the tournament, Federation Internationale de Football Association has announced.

More than 3 million people cast their vote on to choose the best strike at Russian Federation 2018 from among 18 contenders.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Philippe Coutinho, Nacho Fernandez and Jesse Lingard all netted with spectacular efforts during the finals, with Argentina's captain making the cut for his wonderful control and finish against Nigeria and Ronaldo gaining recognition for beating Spain's David de Gea with a free-kick.

The Stuttgart right-back struck from outside the area as France levelled the scores at 2-2 in a compelling last-16 clash during this summer's showpiece event in Russian Federation. "I just tried to get over it and keep it down", Pavard told after France's Round of 16 thriller with Argentina.

Trump's planned White House meeting with Putin pushed back to next year
Bump noted that the Washington Post's initial transcript , provided by Bloomberg, also lacked the important question from Reuters. I'm comfortable having presidents sit down and have one-on-ones with foreign leaders, but what I think matters is the message.

France defender Pavard's spinning right-foot shot against Argentina in the round of 16 came top out of 18 candidates for the award.

It was Pavard's first goal at global level and helped Les Bleus go on to win 4-3 in a thrilling game thanks to a double from teenage star Kylian Mbappe. "I didn't think it over, and when it went in I just felt so happy".

The goal levelled the match to 2-2, although France ended up winning the 4-3 tie. "Thank you all for your posts".

Pavard is the first European player to win the Goal of the Tournament accolade since its creation in 2006. Previous winners include Maxi Rodriguez for Argentina in 2006, Diego Forlan for Uruguay in 2010 and James Rodriguez for Colombia in 2014.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.