Pair of Gamecocks nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame

A few former Dolphins nominated for 2019 Hall of Fame class

A few former Dolphins nominated for 2019 Hall of Fame class

The Modern-Era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019 is comprised of 102 players and coaches, including two prominent former New Orleans Saints, linebacker Sam Mills, and defensive tackle/nose tackle, La'Roi Glover.

Highlighted on Thursday's list are four first-time candidates: tight end Tony Gonzalez, linebacker London Fletcher, corner Champ Bailey and safety Ed Reed.

He made five All-Pro squads, was the 2004 Defensive Player of the Year, and joined Gonzalez on the all-decade team.

The 102 modern nominees gets cut to 25 in November before 15 more are shaved off in January before the Super Bowl. A senior committee finalist, former Chiefs defensive back Johnny Robinson, and two finalists from the contributors category, Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and former Cowboys executive and current National Football League consultant Gil Brandt, also have been nominated. He is also one of few coaches to ever take multiple teams to a Super Bowl (the other two being Dick Vermeil and Bill Parcells). The Senior Finalist and Contributor Finalists are voted "yes" or "no" for election at the annual selection meeting and must receive at least 80 percent support from the Committee to be elected.

Petrol climbs to ₹88.67 per litre in Mumbai, diesel at ₹77.82
India imports about 80% of its crude oil, and the falling rupee will make the imports costlier and lead to a rise in fuel prices. Diesel costs ₹77.82 per litre in Mumbai, ₹77.49 per litre in Chennai and ₹75.36 per litre in Kolkata.

He spent his final five seasons with Atlanta, finishing with 111 touchdown catches and 15,127 yards receiving. The Class of 2019 will be announced during the "NFL Honors" nationally broadcast award show that evening.

Additionally, Gonzalez's 1,325 career receptions are second to only Pro Football Hall of Fame wide receiver Jerry Rice (1,549) for the most in NFL history.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony will be held next August in Canton, Ohio.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.