Selectors tell MS Dhoni his T20I career is over

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni

Team for three-match T20I series against Australia includes Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed.

Millions of Dhoni fans were shocked when the BCCI selectors announced that they were dropping M S Dhoni from India's T20 squad.

Minutes after excluding M.S. Dhoni from India's Twenty20 squad on Friday night, chief selector M.S.K. Prasad denied that it was curtains for the wicketkeeper-batsman's T20I career. Apart from this, the BCCI has also announced a 16-member team for the three-match T-20 series.

Experienced right-hander Rohit Sharma has been recalled to the Test arena after being overlooked since January.

MSDhoni has been at the centre of a lot of discussion in the last couple of days with the Indian cricket team selections opting to rest the veteran wicket-keeper for the upcoming T20Iseries against West Indies and Australia. Coach Ravi Shastri and skipper Virat Kohli could have played a big role in bringing back this Mumbai batsman. A good puller and hooker of the ball, Sharma, if he plays to his potential, can bolster the batting.

Cristiano Ronaldo scores first fizzbang of his Serie A career
Allegri said he saw no need to rest Cristiano Ronaldo , and confirmed the 33-year-old will start at Empoli . Ronaldo's first goal of the afternoon came on a penalty kick early in the second half.

Murali Vijay got the nod ahead of the prolific and unfortunate Mayank Agarwal.

Rohit has shown strong form in limited overs matches but was dropped from the Test side following a poor return in South Africa earlier this year when he scored 78 runs in four innings. Young Washington Sundar is the other all-rounder named in the squad.

Dhoni has represented India in 90 Tests, 329 ODIs and 93 T20 matches since his debut in 2004 in a one-day game against Bangladesh in Chittagong. He is also the captain of the current IPL champions, Chennai Super Kings. Hyderabad fast bowler Mohd Siraj, who like Agarwal was in the Test squad in the recent West Indies, does not find a place in the team to Australia with the selectors preferring the experienced five of Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and Mohd Shami.

Even though the CCI hasn't hosted an global fixture for more than a decade, it has regularly conducted age-group tournaments and India's women's team's fixtures where batsmen have been dominant. The message was carried to Dhoni via the team management who had made it clear that the time was ripe to move beyond his services in T20 internationals.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.