Ferrari appoint Mattia Binotto as team principal

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel failed to win the title in 2017 and 2018 despite a close fight over much of the season with Mercedes' Hamilton as he finished second both times.

This was despite Ferrari having the quicker auto for long stretches during the season, however team mistakes, as well as driving errors from Vettel, saw their hopes crumble as Lewis Hamilton sealed the titles with two races remaining.

Maurizio Arrivabene has left the position of Ferrari team principal and will be replaced by Binotto, who earlier was responsible for handling the technical aspect of the vehicle and the team.

The upheaval, a little more than two months before the start of the season in Australia on March 17, had been flagged up by the La Gazzeta dello Sport newspaper before the official announcement.

Arrivabene was appointed to the top-post by former president Sergio Marchionne, however, throughout his tenure, Arrivabene has been criticised as a puppet to Marchionne, with the real power instead resting with him, but died from complications during surgery for cancer last July.

"The decision was taken together with the company's top management after lengthy discussions".

Ireland to receive migrants after Malta agreement
However, Malta has reached an agreement with some European Union member states to allow the 49 migrants on board to disembark. The migrants will be transferred to Maltese military ships that will bring them ashore.

'Ferrari would like to thank Maurizio for his valuable contribution to the team's increasing competitiveness over the past few years, and wish him the best for his future endeavours. "All technical areas will continue to report directly to Mattia".

Swiss-born Binotto is understood to have been favoured by Marchionne and has extensive pedigree.

That said, Ferrari has not won a driver's title since Kimi Raikkonen's title in 2007.

Also, the ties between Arrivabene was seen as someone slowly building a wall around him and the team.

The Italian outfit have won a record 16 constructors' titles, with their last coming in 2008, and are unique in having competed in every season since the first in 1950.

The team will have a new driver next season with Monaco's Charles LeClerc replacing Raikkonen, who is moving to Sauber.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.