Chrome Password Checkup alerts you to hacked logins

DressCode  linux

DressCode linux

Google announced the release of the Password Checkup Chrome extension created to keep an eye on current data breaches and announce its users if their accounts have been impacted by recent security breaches. Dubbed Cross Account Protection, Google can use this to share details of an account breach with its SSO partners so they can take action as well. "If we detect that a username and password on a site you use is one of over 4 billion credentials that we know have been compromised, the extension will trigger an automatic warning and suggest that you change your password".

For those anxious that Google will be getting a copy of all of your usernames and passwords, Google's got some good news for you.

When the extension detects an insecure password, it'll prompt you with a big red dialog box to immediately update your info.

Trump says he does not necessarily agree with intelligence agencies
I think I'm right, but time will prove that, time will prove me right probably", Trump told reporters at the White House . When told by officials that it was an independent country, he said Bhutan was in India. "They said it was fake news".

On the other hand, Google's new Password Checkup extensions works more proactively to check actual usernames and passwords entered in login forms. Google said the reason it doesn't alert users when they use simple or previously leaked passwords is because they were trying to avoid an alert/popup fatigue that may have led to users ignoring the alerts altogether. That's because the extension uses "multiple rounds of hashing, k-anonymity, private information retrieval, and a technique called blinding. With technologies like Password Checkup and Cross Account Protection, we're continuing to improve the security of our users across the internet, not just on Google - and we'll never stop improving our defences to keep you safe online". If you're one of the many people using Chrome as your main browser, it certainly seems like it's worth installing. The company only shares the fact that a security event has occurred, basic information about the event such as whether an account was hijacked and this information is only shared with apps where a user's Google credentials were used to login.

Google will limit disclosures to only share that these security events have occurred, without sharing personal account info.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.