Google sets April 2 closing date for Google Plus

Google+ will shutter on April 2

Google+ will shutter on April 2

"If you have Google+ content that you would like to save, you must do so before April 2nd".

Google+ account, as well as Google+ pages that users created, will be shut down on April 2.

But the Alphabet-owned Google launched Google+ in June 2011 in an attempt to challenge Facebook and, to a lesser extent, Twitter, in the social networking competition.

But it should be remembered that Google will keep Google+ going (at least for now) for enterprise users.

American multinational technology company Google is requesting its consumers to download and save the content shared in their personal Google+ profiles as the company has chose to shut down the service for consumers by April 2019. Google will start deleting content including photos and videos from users' Album Archive as well as Google+ pages. "It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication", reads Google post.

Other data, such as Circles, Communities, Streams, and +1s, can also be downloaded and saved.

Users are encouraged to download and save photos, videos, and posts; anything backed up to Google Photos is secure.

Pakistan look to level series against South Africa in second T20
Malik kept Pakistan in the game, scoring 49 off 31 balls before he was dismissed off the third ball of the final over. Wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock has also been ruled out of the remaining two T20Is with a groin injury.

Google note that the process of actually deleting all that data might take a few months, and content "may remain" through this time.

"If you're a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community".

Not that you'd want to, but anyone itching to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities, or events have until Monday, Feb. 4. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.

(Image: Shutterstock)How will I sign in using my Google+ profile?

Google Plus - while not being poplar - became a site for niche communities in the end. You'll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons.

But Google in December announced an early shutdown due to a bug that exposed millions of people's private information to app developers. All Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.