India to bowl in first T20 against New Zealand

Dinesh Karthik

Dinesh Karthik

It was a time when New Zealand were looking to pile on over 250 runs with Tim Siefert 84, Colin Munro 34 and Kane Williamson 34 giving the hosts a solid foundation.

After being put in to bat, New Zealand made a superb start with Seifert and Munro putting on 86 for the first wicket and Williamson ensured that no momentum was lost once Munro was eventually removed. India's previous worst was a 49-run loss to Australia back in 2010.

"We like to chase as a team", captain Rohit Sharma said. We were outplayed in all three departments.

"We have chased such (big) targets in the past and that is why we played with eight batsmen".

He added: "We were confident of getting that target. We just needed that one big partnership which we failed to do".

Facebook Messenger Launches an ‘Unsend’ Feature
In the long-awaited answer to many Messenger users" prayers, Facebook announced today that it is launching an " unsend' feature . Instead, we're limited by a timer of 10 minutes that starts ticking down the moment the offending message is originally sent.

Seifert had a life on 71 when dropped on the boundary by Dinesh Karthik and added a further 13 runs before he was bowled by Khaleel Ahmed. They had some luck - there's always some luck in this format - but Seifert was in fine form, picking up anything that drifted into his pads on his way to seven fours and six sixes. Kane Williamson (34) and Ross Taylor (23) chipped in to help New Zealand reach 219/6 in their 20 overs.

Faced with batting at 11 an over, India faltered from the start when Sharma went for one.

Shikhar Dhawan blazed away with a quick 29, but five wickets fell for 26 runs in 33 deliveries once he was bowled by Lockie Ferguson.

They didn't get it, Southee finishing with 3-17, with India - who are unbeaten in their last 10 Twenty20 series' - now on the brink of their first series defeat since 2017.

Watch the second Twenty20 worldwide between New Zealand and India from 5.55am, Friday on Sky Sports Cricket and Main Event. India won the preceding ODI series 4-1.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.