BJP may create history in West Bengal, leading in around 15 seats

Get real-time trends and results of LS polls on EC’s mobile app

Get real-time trends and results of LS polls on EC’s mobile app

During 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the results favored the BJP by giving the party 7 seats meaning 50 percent of the total number of seats in the state.

The exit poll results for Assam showed a win for the Bharatiya Janata Party. The Voter Turnout app has more than 100,000 downloads. According to searches tracked on Google, the hashtags for BJP started off to be more popular than that for Congress Party, however, the two parties mostly played with the hashtags "Main Bhi Chowkidaar" (Even I am a guard), "Chowkidaar Chor Hai" (The guard is, in fact, the thief) and "Phir Ek Baar Modi Sarkar" (Modi government once again). There are four Independents. In 2014, the BJD had won 20 seats and BJP took one.

Political tensions rose last month after Lokendra Singh Rajput, a candidate of Mayawati's BSP, quit and joined the Congress, saying he supports Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Despite losing power a year ago to the Congress in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, the BJP was on the victory path in most Lok Sabha seats in the three states. BJP and its ally Janata Dal (United) were ahead in 16 seats each in Bihar out of 40 at stake.

The BJP is looking to consolidate in over 15 seats in the 42-seat Lok Sabha quota.

Nakul Kamal Nath, son of Chief Minister Kamal Nath is the only non-BJP candidate who is leading over BJP's Nathansaha Kawreti in the Chhindwara, although with a thin margin of 35,795 votes.

Brooks Koepka sets new major target after fourth title
Johnson said after his round he's already begun to get a flood of texts, mostly saying, "Keep your head up". The burly 29-year-old sealed the deal with a handsome par save on 18 from the fescue left of the fairway.

In Guna, Jyotiraditya Scindia's vote share of 41.4% against the BJP's 51.2% hints at a setback too for Congress as it trails behind BJP's K.P. Yadav.

The scene was grimmer at the E M Bypass office, as except guards and few policemen no TMC supporter or party leader could be seen.

A change of fortunes happened in 2014 with the emergence of Narendra Modi on the national scene as the face of the saffron party and under his leadership the BJP won 282 seats on its own.

BJP's Gopalji Thakur is leading with more than 100,000 votes in Darbhanga constituency against his nearest rival, Abdul Bari Siddiqui.

The TRS was leading in 11 seats in Telangana and the YSR Congress Party in 11 in Andhra Pradesh.

In the Bhatpara by-poll, Madan Mitra, the former transport minister of state, is trailing against BJP's Pawan Kumar Singh, who is the son of former Trinamool Congress MLA Arjun Singh.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.