Australia, Qatar set as '20 Copa America guests

Reuters  Ueslei Marcelino

Reuters Ueslei Marcelino

"On Saturday 8 June, Paris Saint-Germain's first team doctor, Dr Laurent Aumont, and the club's medical board member and leading figure in sports medicine, Professor Gerard Saillant, assessed the injury picked up by Neymar Brazil's preparation match for the Copa America last Wednesday", the club team's statement read.

Australia had originally been secretly bidding to host next year's tournament but CONMEBOL made a decision to share hosting between Argentina and Colombia instead.

He also said this year's Copa America will be broadcast to a record 178 countries. The experience we will gain from playing in this tournament will be incredible and I know by speaking to our players, they are equally excited about being part of one of the world's most prestigious football tournaments.

"Our planning for the Fifa World Cup in Qatar has already started". Playing in this tournament provides another layer of incentive for our players to put themselves up for selection for the national team.

The 2020 tournament - which comes just 12 months after this year's 46th edition in Brazil, as it switches to an even-numbered yearly cycle - will feature some of the best sides in the world.

Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela plus one of the invited nations will be split into one group. You'll be able to follow your teams from the group stage all the way through the final. Only two teams outside of South America - Japan and Qatar - have been invited to participate.

Lululemon Earnings: LULU Stock Surges on Q1 EPS, Sales Beat
Want to see what other hedge funds are holding LULU? Lululemon Athletica has a 1 year low of $110.71 and a 1 year high of $179.49. This buyback authorization authorizes the apparel retailer to repurchase up to 2.6% of its stock through open market purchases.

Invites have often been sent to teams that are geographically and culturally similar, with Mexico competing in each of the 10 tournaments between 1993 and 2016.

"Qatar is the last champions of the Asian confederation - having champions participating in competition always elevates the prestige and quality of football", said Paraguayan Dominguez.

The CONMEBOL boss also rejected the idea of a two-legged final for the next Copa America.

It will be the third continental championship Australia have contested.

The reigning champions are Chile, who won its second title 4-2 on penalties after a 0-0 draw with Argentina in 2016.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.