Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson to receive Generation Award from MTV

MTV Movie & TV Awards Best Kiss Nominees Over the Years

MTV Movie & TV Awards Best Kiss Nominees Over the Years

Actor/producer/all-around good guy Dwayne Johnson has been chosen to receive MTV's Generation Award at the 2019 MTV Movie & TV Awards. Deadline reports that MTV will be awarding Johnson with the Generation Award during the 2019 MTV Movie & TV Awards.

Johnson previously hosted the show in 2016 with "Central Intelligence" co-star Kevin Hart. Past recipients include Chris Pratt, Will Smith, Reese Witherspoon, Robert Downey Jr., Mark Wahlberg, Sandra Bullock, Jamie Foxx, Johnny Depp, Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler, Mike Myers, Tom Cruise, Jim Carrey and the entire "Fast & Furious" franchise.

With the news announced on Thursday, the Rampage actor and former wrestling champion, 47, will be recognized for his iconic work on the big and small screen and for being 'an action star with a flair for comedy, ' as well as, a 'true family man'.

Bitcoin surpasses $9,000 setting another yearly record
As ever, it's hard to pinpoint exactly what is causing the cryptocurrency's price to rise as it has over the past few months. Another cryptocurrency from the top ten that saw tremendous growth last week was Litecoin (LTC) - up over 20 percent.

Ranked as one of the highest-paid actors in Hollywood as well as one of TIME's Most Influential People for several years, Johnson isn't going anywhere, so the MTV Generation Award award couldn't come at a better time in his decades-long career. The Generation Award is meant to celebrate great achievements in movies and, according to WWE, announcement about the award is supposed to be given to "an artist for a variety of impressive roles, personal and professional flair, and level of talent". This year's host ceremony is taking place at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica and has Shazam! star Zachary Levi on board to host.

Johnson will be present for the ceremony on June 17, which will air at 9 p.m. ET. On Monday, The Rock is set to join their ranks.

The accolade has only been awarded five times in the past and 'recognizes game-changing creators with fresh and fearless voices in entertainment'.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.