Phil Mickelson finally apologizes for U.S. Open meltdown

See Phil Mickelson's bizarre meltdown on the green at the U.S. Open

See Phil Mickelson's bizarre meltdown on the green at the U.S. Open

The reaction of some to Phil Mickelson setting the golfing world ablaze with his deliberate rule breaking is one of - who cares?

His breach of rule 14-5 incurred a two-shot penalty, yet can anyone seriously disagree that disqualification can be the only punishment for what Mickelson did?

"That's basically his way of saying "that's it", former US Golf Association executive David Fay said. Mr. Joyce said he did not think Mickelson should have been disqualified.

Mickelson tried to downplay the controversy and offered a limp apology to reporters after signing his scorecard. But it is what it is, and I'm pretty happy with the way I played today. "So, yeah, Phil definitely could have handled it better".

"He didn't use the rules", the Texan said, "he broke them". I might have saved a shot doing it the way I did.

Another fan who was with them, was less sympathetic.

His stunning rules violation might now be the most irreversibly indelible stamp on his name, maybe right there with the three Masters green jackets.

UPDATE: 5:15 p.m. That's why Brooks Koepka's winning score was 1-over par. "If there was a chance it was going to go back behind the bunker and he's got to chip back or he was going to play off the green he was potentially saving himself a shot".

Phil Mickelson's wife Amy has spoken on his...

Spieth saw the amusing side in what Mickelson did on the 13th hole on Saturday. He made the turn and continued his ride on the bogey train at 10 and 11, putting him at 4-over for the day. At the 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills, Mickelson had lined up to putt for bogey but sent the ball past the hole.

Blatter arrives in Russian Federation for World Cup despite Fifa ban
The 82 year-old Swiss is banned from taking part in any Federation Internationale de Football Association activities until 2022. Former FIFA president Sepp Blatter arrived at the World Cup on Tuesday as a guest of Russian president Vladimir Putin .

"I don't think people thought that was the intent, but I'll take his word it was his intent". I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that, and I just finally did. Sorry, I have to laugh at this.' He just laughed with me.

Two-time US Open champion Curtis Strange added: "I've never seen anything like that from a world class player in my life." whereas LPGA star Christina Kim went even further, describing the scenes as "ghastly". "I don't know if I was able to save a shot or not".

"I know it's a two-shot penalty", he said. No one had taken a four-stroke lead into the weekend and failed to win since Tom McNamara suffered a heat stroke on the 68th hole in 1909. "I don't mean it disrespectfully". Finau's other top-10 finish in a major tournament came in the 2015 PGA Championship - two months after he tied for 14 in his first U.S. Open. "It's been incredible", he said.

UPDATE: 12:30 p.m.

Shinnecock Hills looks the kind of place Jay Gatsby would saunter up for a game.

Mickelson is celebrating his 48th birthday, and it's one he is sure to remember.

Here's the video again for those of you who may have somehow missed it.

Analysts and fellow golfers criticized Mickelson for the move. It's something you might see at your home course with your mates or something.

Saturday, the total draw to the property should be well above that.

Zach Johnson said the USGA "lost the course". "We are operating under what we saw".

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.