Ajaz Patel included in New Zealand’s Test squad against Pakistan

BJ Watling has been named in the ODI squad having last played an ODI in December 2016

BJ Watling has been named in the ODI squad having last played an ODI in December 2016

There is one notable name in the Kiwi's 15-man squad for the three-match Test series with Domestic Player of the Year Ajaz Patel being given his maiden call-up. Patel picked up 49 wickets in just nine matches for the Central Stags last season in their march to the Plunket Shield title. He says when he received the call from national selector Gavin Larsen, he asked if he was joking.

Meanwhile, New Zealand also included Tom Blundell, as the second-choice wicketkeeper option, apart from BJ Watling.

He takes the place of another left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner, who is still recovering from knee surgery.

The Blackcaps have named only 13 members each in their T20 and ODI squads with the remaining two names to be filled after taking into consideration New Zealand A's shadow tour of the UAE.

Watling is the interesting name in the one-day worldwide squad, having played the last of his 27 ODIs against Australia in Melbourne in December 2016.

Larsen said Watling was a contender for the World Cup squad and would be tried in a similar role to incumbent Tom Latham, as a middle order batsman and gloveman, while power hitter Colin Munro retains his ODI spot as Martin Guptill's opening partner after a lean trot at home.

463 migrants may have been deported without their children
The rights group said the time was needed to advise parents of their rights and allow them time to consider their options. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, said the 463 cases are "under review", and in those cases the adult "is not in U.S".

Boult will join the tour for the ODI and Test series.

Test squad: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Jeet Raval, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling.

Mumbai-born cricketer, Ajaz Patel has been selected in the New Zealand test squad.

Tim Seifert, Mark Chapman and Lockie Ferguson will play the T20 games before moving into the Black Caps T20 squad.

Two players from the New Zealand A squad will make it to the national T20I squad, which will be without Trent Boult, the left-arm paceman.

T20Is: Kane Williamson (capt), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor and two players to be added from New Zealand A.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.