FIFA Best Player: Ronaldo, Drogba, Lampard to decide victor

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah

World Cup (quarter-finals). Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK Athens) - AEK-Olympiacos.

The award victor will emerge from a vigorous process which had a voting process involving fans, national team coaches and captains and journalists from across the globe.

However, although Messi's goal for Argentina against Nigeria at the World Cup is in contention for the FIFA Puskas Award and he could feature in the FIFPro World 11, he, like Ronaldo, is not expected to attend the ceremony.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi's decade-long domination of football's individual awards is under threat from Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric and Liverpool's Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah when FIFA's player of the year is announced on Monday.

Modric is arguably in pole position for the main award after winning the Golden Ball at this summer's World Cup in Russian Federation where Croatia finished runners-up.

Ronaldo is also vying for the Player of the Year gong, where his biggest rival appears to be Modric.

Iowa Republicans Rally Christian Coalition Behind Brett Kavanaugh
Trump, at the United Nations in NY , declared that Kavanaugh is "outstanding", and added, "I am with him all the way". Republicans, who hold a paper-thin majority in the Senate, can ill afford defections if Kavanaugh is to be approved.

Messi has not made the shortlist for the first time since 2007 and Modric was the player of the tournament at this summer's World Cup and won UEFA's player of the year last month.

The star-studded event will also see the best Women's Player, Men's Coach, Women's Coach and Men's Goalkeeper crowned, as well as picking Goal of the Year.

Ronaldo is hoping to make it a hat-trick of awards in the Best Men's Player category, having won the title in each of the two previous years, and this time round finds himself up against former Real Madrid teammate Luka Modric and Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah.

In the women's category, Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan will fight with Orlando Pride's Marta for the crown, whilst the coaching award will be for Lyon's Reynald Pedros, Japan's Asako Takakura or the Netherlands' Sarina Weigman.

However, things have changed and AS say that the Argentine ace is giving it a miss due to "personal reasons".

The gala's suitably scrubbed-up guests began arriving on the Royal Festival Hall's green carpet about an hour ago, and have been busy posing for the cameras.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.