IPL: Yuvraj Singh shown the door by Kings XI Punjab

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh

Franchises were required to inform the IPL Governing Council by November 15 about their retentions and release of players for the 2019 player auction. Australian limited overs captain Aaron Finch, 2011 World Cup victor Yuvraj Singh and left-arm spinner Axar Patel are amongst the 11 cricketers who have been released by the franchise. The Kings had earlier traded Marcus Stoinis for Mandeep Singh from RCB. With the retention done, KXIP still have at least eight more spots to complete the squad, which will be addressed in the player auction ahead of the next season.

The other released players are: Mohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Barinder Sran, Akshdeep Nath, Pradeep Sahoo, Mayank Dagar and Manzoor.

The overhaul comes on the back off a poor second half performance by the franchise last season where they blew a chance to make it to the playoffs despite enjoying a great start to their campaign. On the overseas front, purple cap victor Andrew Tye, mystery spinner Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, David Miller and Chris Gayle, who was picked up for his base price last season, have been retained.

Microsoft to acquire XOXCO for its conversational AI and bot development capabilities
XOXCO had begun as a consulting services and software product design firm before making a successful pivot into chatbots. The acquisition of Semantic Machines in May brought a revolutionary new approach to conversational AI.

Besides Yuvraj and Finch, left-arm-spinner Axar Patel is another name on the released list of the players.

Retained list for Kings XI Punjab: R. Ashwin, K.L. Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Andrew Tye, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Ankeet Rajpoot, Chris Gayle and David Miller.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.