Look Rugby Seven Series announced

Groundbreaking women’s tournament added to Cape Town Sevens

Groundbreaking women’s tournament added to Cape Town Sevens

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: "This is an exciting time for sevens as the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is set to break new ground with more combined rounds than ever before on the circuit, as Cape Town, Hamilton and Hong Kong Sevens welcome women's world series teams for the first time from next season".

As World Rugby announced a revamped Sevens series, the women's tournament will increase from six legs to eight going into 2019-20, while the men's series will stay at 10 legs.

Dubai, Cape Town, Hamilton, Sydney, Hong Kong and Paris will all host combined events for the next four-year cycle of the Series.

World Rugby confirmed the move with the women's season set to expand to eight rounds for the first time.

New Zealand and Fiji have a longstanding rivalry on the men's World Sevens Series.

In an effort to deepen the talent pool, Rugby Australia will also look to recruit more athletes to compete in the 2019 Aon University Sevens Series.

SA Rugby chief executive Jurie Roux welcomed the decision to stage a combined tournament in Cape Town, which replaced Port Elizabeth as a host city of a men's tournament at the beginning of the current four-year cycle in 2015.

Beto O'Rourke will seek 2020 Democratic presidential nomination
Senator Ted Cruz previous year , pledged to tackle "the interconnected crises in our economy, our democracy and our climate". But that will come with intensifying scrutiny from the media, Democratic power brokers and donors, as well as voters.

Sport Singapore CEO Lim Teck Yin and Singapore Sports Hub CEO Oon Jin Teik said they are delighted that the Singapore Sevens will be extended for the next four years and are thankful to World Rugby for their continued trust in the Republic.

Hamilton, the newest venue on the men's series having hosted its inaugural event in 2018, becomes a new combined event for both men's and women's teams.

This means that while Hong Kong will host a combined series round, Singapore will continue as a men's standalone round after the Southeast Asian nation earned the venue rights for the series during its expansion in 2015. With the newly expanded women's series, qualified teams will have more competitive playing opportunities as they prepare to participate at Tokyo 2020.

Last month, Singapore was ranked second out of the 10 legs and Asia's best last season, according to World Rugby's tournament evaluation.

"There has been no determination on the format of the event in subsequent years and we are continuing work with World Rugby on all options moving forward", Jamie Levchuk, managing director of HSBC Canada Sevens and Rugby Canada Events, said in an email to The Canadian Press.

"It's been great to have had the event for the last two years, with a third one coming up".

"Everyone has seen the contribution of the Fijian rugby community to the success of the tournament in Hamilton both on the field and in the stands".

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.