Ex-Bears great Covert elected to Hall of Fame

Slater Sprinkle Sabol make centennial Hall of Fame class

Slater Sprinkle Sabol make centennial Hall of Fame class

The Dallas Cowboys are going to be well represented in this year's Pro Football Hall of Fame ceremony.

So, with that in mind, here are our next best guesses - former coaches turned analysts, Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson, have already been announced as in - for the sweet Centennial Class enshrinees.

Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode Celebrate Hall of Fame Inductions
Rex and the Doobie Brothers are all first-time nominees. "Thank you!" See the band's post below. The rest are first-time nominees, with all but Biggie having been eligible for many years.

Karras will join other Lions players in the Hall of Fame, including Lem Barney, Dick "Night Train" Lane, Doak Walker, Charlie Sanders, Dick LeBeau, Bobby Layne and Barry Sanders. Slater played in the National Football League from 1922-31, started 99 games and played 60 minutes in 90 of them, according to a biography written by Neal Rozendaal. He earned first-team All-Big Ten honors in his final three seasons. Iowa had a flawless 7-0 Big Ten record in 1921 to claim the conference title, and was named by more than one media outlet as national champion. He moved to the Circuit Court of Cook County in 1964. Slater Residence Hall on the Iowa campus is named in his honor. He will be inducted posthumously in August alongside former Iowa defensive tackle Alex Karras, who also was chosen to the 20-member class. A three-time All-Pro in 12 seasons, Karras unofficially had 97 1/2 sacks - it was not an National Football League statistic in the 1950s and '60s, and was considered by Vince Lombardi the one Detroit player who could single-handedly disrupt the Packers. He was named to the NFL's 1970s All-Decade Team, but somehow, he has not been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.