Hamilton and Mercedes nominated for 2020 Laureus Awards

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk lifts the Champions League trophy aloft

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk lifts the Champions League trophy aloft

Motor Racing champion Lewis Hamilton (Britain), Motor Cycling champion Marc Marquez, Tennis veteran Rafael Nadal and Golf legend Tiger Woods will also be competing against Messi and Kipchoge.

2020 nominee Mercedes took top spoils in "Team of the Year" category in 2018, a feat also achieved by Renault in 2006 and Brawn GP in 2010.

Liverpool FC has received two nominations for the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Laureus World Sports Awards recognises the best of the best in the world of sports and Kipchoge will battle out against the Ballon d'Or victor with the awardee being crowned in a prestigious ceremony in Berlin, Germany on February 17.

UEFA Champions League winners Liverpool FC and FIFA Women's World Cup champions US are the footballing nominees in the Laureus "World Team of the Year" category. Liverpool are in the running after clinching the Champions League crown; the US Women's Football Team won the Women's World Cup; Mercedes won the Formula One constructors' title; the Toronto Raptors became the first Canadian team to win the NBA Championship; and Spain's men's team ruled at the Basketball World Cup.

Simone Biles is targeting a third Sportswoman of the Year award against track and field stars Allyson Felix and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, footballer Megan Rapinoe, tennis star Naomi Osaka and skiing great Mikaela Shiffrin.

Amazon and Flipkart face an antitrust investigation in India
Earlier this month a conglomerate run by Asia's richest man has started a service that aims to compete with Amazon in India . Commentators slammed the fact that Bezos funneled a " tiny fraction " of what he earns, reported Business Insider .

The Boks previously won the prestigious accolade in 2008, following their World Cup triumph in France the year before.

The Comeback of the Year category features Andy Murray, and Diede De Groot is nominated for Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability.

At 15, Coco Gauff is the youngest nominated athletes for the 2020 Laureus Awards and is joined in the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year category by Canadian tennis player Bianca Andreescu, 19, the first woman to win the US Open on her debut, and Colombia's first ever Tour de France victor, 22-year-old Egan Bernal.

Osaka's not the only young WTA star up for an award as Bianca Andreescu is nominated for Breakthrough of the Year, and so is 15-year-old Coco Gauff.

In the Laureus "World Action Sportsperson of the Year" category, world surfing champions Italo Ferreira and Carissa Moore are joined by 2019 Action Sportsperson victor and snowboarding world champion Chloe Kim and 11-year-old Brazilian skateboarder Rayssa Leal, the youngest Nominee for the 2020 Laureus Awards.

Victor of the award will officially be announced on Monday, February 17, in Berlin, Germany.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.