Fourth and last lunar eclipse of 2020 to occur on Monday

Full-Beaver-Moon-Penumbral-Eclipse-Nov

Full-Beaver-Moon-Penumbral-Eclipse-Nov

When the sun gets partially blocked by the Earth and sunlight does not reach the Moon, it is called a penumbral lunar eclipse.

This year witnessed a total of three penumbral lunar eclipses, out of which the first lunar eclipse took place on 10 January, the second one on 5 June and the third one on 5 July.

A solar eclipse always occurs about two weeks before or after a lunar eclipse, said Jim Todd, director of space science education at OMSI, but this time most of the world will miss out: The next total solar eclipse will be on December 14, visible only from Chile and some parts of Argentina.

The last and the final lunar eclipse or "Chandra Grahan" of 2020 is all set to take place on November 30.

It will reach its peak at 2:42pm, Dr Iqbal said, adding that the shadow of the eclipse will be removed from the moon at 4:53pm.

Eclipse end time: November 30 at 5:22 pm.

It is worth mentioning that it is important not to confuse this type of lunar eclipse with the total and the partial.

Barcelona pay homage to Maradona
After scoring the "Hand of God" goal in 1986, Diego Maradona scores again, a spectacular effort against England. Antoine Griezmann doubled their lead before half time.

What is a penumbral lunar eclipse? Though this penumbral eclipse will be the longest one of the year, it won't be visible in India.

Around 20 minutes before the deepest phase of the "Beaver Moon" eclipse, faint penumbral shading will be visible along the upper edge of the moon. Sky-gazers must write down these timings if they wish to see this attractive event: Th eclipse begins prior to the full moon at 2:32 am EST (7:32 UTC); hides the 83% of the moon behind Earth's shadow at 4:42 am EST (9:42 UTC) and moves away at 6:53 a.m. EST (11:53 UTC) Monday morning, as per data given by timeanddate.com.

"But there are many amateur astronomers who take videos of the event and are able to show how the moon, when it passes through the penumbra, undergoes slight change in its light", Kapoor said.

However, people in some northern and eastern parts of the country will be able to see the penumbral eclipse.

Where in other parts of the world is it visible?

The Pacific Northwest will not see another eclipse until the annual solar eclipse October 14, 2023 And total solar eclipse April 8, 2024.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.